SWPL Honors Record Number of Champions in 2021/2022

It Was An Unprecedented Season Of Expansion For The Official NISA Affiliate
Published Jun 16, 2022

LA MIRADA, CA (June 16, 2022) – The Southwest Premier League (SWPL) had itself quite a season in 2021/2022.

In an unprecedented period of expansion for the league, 15 champions were crowned across five divisions in three regions, with several more to be crowned in the weeks ahead.

“It was a great season. We expanded by leaps and bounds, with top clubs stepping up to win some big-time hardware and qualify for the NISA Independent Cup,” SWPL President Matt Morse said. “We’re extremely proud of the growth over the last 12 months, and we think we’re on to something really good for independent soccer in the Southwest.”

SoCal Premier’s Men’s Under-23 and Men’s Over-30 competitions continue into the summer, while the Arizona Premier and Mountain Premier will complete their inaugural campaigns soon.

2022 SWPL Champions
Men’s 1st Division North - Pateadores Academy (Costa Mesa, CA)
Men’s 1st Division South - Olympiacos CA (Huntington Beach, CA)
Men’s 1st Division Spring - IE Republic FC (San Bernardino, CA)
Women’s 1st Division - UC Internacional (Los Angeles, CA)
Men’s 2nd Division - FC Golden State U19 (Pomona, CA)
Men’s 3rd Division - FC Cypress (Cypress, CA)
Men’s Over-30 Fall – Hooligans FC (Irvine, CA)

Men's Over-30 Spring 1st Division - Outbreak SC (Long Beach, CA)
Men's Over-30 Spring 2nd Division - Real Sociedad Angels (Lakewood, CA)
Raul Briones Cup - Pateadores Academy (Costa Mesa, CA)
Brent Freeman Cup - Hunnover FC (Irvine, CA)
Barry Turner Master’s Cup - Elite SC (Downey, CA)
Fritz Jansen Master’s Cup - British American FC (Fullerton, CA)
Overall - AFC South Bay (San Jose, CA)
Men’s 1st Division East - Dublin Celtic FC (Livermore, CA)
Men’s 1st Division West - AFC South Bay (San Jose, CA)
Men’s 1st Division Fall - Las Vegas Legends II (Las Vegas, NV)
Men’s 1st Division Spring - Fire FC (St. George, UT)